CBN Advert


Business news

Latest Award for CBN’s Emefiele: The SUN Award For Public Service

No Comments Share:
Image result for Latest Award for CBN's Emefiele: The SUN Award For Public Service
Amaka Obiefuna.
Mr. Godwin Emefiele, the much respected Nigeria Central Bank Governoer has won the Public Service Award for 2017. The Award was conferred on him by The Sun Publishing Limited, publishers of The Sun titles, on Saturday, February 24, 2018 as part of its 15th Annual Awards ceremony.
Managing Director/Editor-in-Chief of the Sun Publishing Limited, Mr. Eric Osagie explained that the Award was in recognition of current policies championed by Mr. Emefiele aimed at strengthening the country’s economy.
Emefiele is known to have initiated time changing policies which include various intervention programmes geared towards poverty eradication and which have continued to engender sustainability and restoration in the Nigerian economy. He particularly noted that under Mr. Emefiele’s watch, the country had witnessed a massive drop in the volume of rice importation and an upscale in rice self-sufficiency, leading to relaxed pressure on foreign exchange.
While presenting the award to Mr. Emefiele at the ceremony held at the Eko Hotels and Suites, the Governor of Gombe State, Alhaji Ibrahim Dankwambo, lauded the efforts of the CBN Governor and his team for stabilizing the economy and moving the economy forward.
Emefiele thanked the Sun for finding the CBN worthy of the award and dedicated the award to all staff of the Bank, stressing that the CBN had the best crop of staff capable of competing with those at other Central Banks from any part of the world.
Also awarded where the Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, who bagged the Sun Man of the Year Award; the Governor of Rivers State, Chief Nyesom Wike, who received the Governor of the Year Award; the Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, who was honoured as Outstanding Politician of the Year; and the First Lady, Aisha Buhari, who received the Sun Award for being the Most Supportive First Lady of the Year; Governor Dave Umahi of Ebonyi State and his Jigawa State counterpart, Alhaji Atiku Bagudu, for their outstanding performance in agriculture; the Emir of Kano, Alhaji Muhammad Sanusi, for his courage in Leadership; and Mr. Peter Amangbo, the Group Managing Director of Zenith, as Banker of the Year.
Another notable moment of the night was the posthumous conferment of Hero of the Year on the late Sergeant Chukwudi Iboko, who was killed by dare-devil armed robbers in February 2017, while guarding a branch of Zenith Bank in Owerri, Imo State.
Previous Article

Operating surpluses: We deserve return on investments, says FG

Next Article

Shell wins Nigeria Oil and Gas Industry games for record third time

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *